When you get ready to go to work, whether in an office or warehouse, you expect the area to be free of hazards and safe to navigate. You expect your equipment to function as intended without fear of anything catastrophic. Unfortunately, workers in Oregon get injured on the job every day. You may feel shocked and unsure what to do when you get hurt. It is essential to know your rights when injured at work.
File Workers’ Compensation
You must file workers’ compensation at your earliest opportunity. Your employer legally cannot refuse to let you file this claim, and you have 90 days to file the claim. If your claim is denied, you will have 60 days to appeal the decision. This process is known for being cryptic and highly detailed, which is why a lawyer well-versed in Oregon worker’s compensation laws can help.
Gather All Relevant Documents
Any documentation you have related to your incident should be submitted along with your claim. Any medical records, x-rays, and witness testimonies can be included, as these will help strengthen your case and garner you the compensation you deserve.
Hire Legal Representation
Having an attorney from day one ensures all timelines are met, evidence is secured, and appropriate rules are followed. If you attempt to defend yourself, you may overlook certain details that could benefit your case. An experienced lawyer would know precisely how to defend you, as they are responsible for evaluating your entire situation and creating a strong case. You may believe it is more cost-efficient to pursue the claim yourself, but you need to be prepared to deal with a very astute and contentious adversary. Worker compensation carriers are not in the business of paying on claims. They fight. But so do we.
Speak With Us Immediately
Shlesinger & de Villeneuve Attorneys, P.C. has helped many individuals secure workers’ compensation after sustaining an injury on the job. You deserve to have your rights protected, and we are ready to assist you. Give us a call today to get started.